9 comments on “An Introduction to Islam: Understanding the Basic Foundations

  1. I did want to pop back up here and tell you that out of all of the people I sent the two articles two about Islam and trying to educate them….I have now only received 2 more responses out of about 25. That is a total of “4” now.

    This is not good. People are not taking this seriously enough in the Christian Churches.
    I am very disturbed about it.
    I know this isn’t the same article that I sent….I just wanted to take the opportunity to get back here and report.

    Like

    • re: upaces;

      Give it time..

      Perhaps they have not found it yet. Perhaps they are busy.. or they are on vacation. Perhaps they are thinking and praying it over.

      We do not know.. and it is not our job to know. Like I said.. just sound the trumpet.

      Try not to stress it.. Some, if not many of these Pastors could be in shock. I mean.. many may be thinking.. “..what the ___? Are they referring to the peaceful, loving religion of Islam that I have been sharing my Church with..?”

      Like

      • I have to let go. Much of the problem , I think, that most people can’t comprehend that an entire population, supposedly, religious people has learned since childhood how to look you straight into your eyes and LIE, LIE, LIE.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Respostas | SCOMBROS

  3. To understand Islam truly is to understand the religion from its scripture i.e Al Quran and Sunnah. You should read the Quran than only you will understand the beauty of the religion. Sometimes Islam was miss judged through it’s followers manner. In Islam women have a high standard in society, they have all rights to get education, marriage and practice the religion. The more western media attacks Islam, the more people read about Islam, and the more are convinced that it is the Truth and God’s final guidance to humanity. What is interesting is that despite all claims about Islam being unfair to women, there are at least three times more women converting to Islam in the west compared to men.

    Islam, as a divine religion, sets down rules that strike a balance between men’s responsibilities and women’s rights. Woman is recognized by Islam as the full and equal partner of the man in the procreation of humankind. By this partnership, she has an equal share in every aspect. She is entitled to equal rights, she undertakes equal responsibilities, and she has as many qualities and as much humanity as her partner. Fascinated by Islam’s respect for women, a teenage student at University College London shared the story of finding Islam with her colleagues as part of their college Islam Awareness Week, hoping to dispel misconceptions long associated with Islam about women. “My main reason to convert to Islam was because it gives women the respect and rights that society no longer gives,” Sara Lawler, 19, from Ingol, told Lancashire Evening Post. “It is a way of life that is pure, peaceful and brings out the best of life.” Sara, who was brought up as a Christian, converted to Islam.

    Now she prays five times a day and wears a head scarf, but admits that changing her faith wasn’t a big decision. “It was more part of my life anyway,” she said. “I had done a lot of research. It was not really a big decision.” The story of her conversion was shared during the events of UCL Islam Awareness Week, organized to challenge the myths, prejudices and stereotypes that exist about Islam and Muslims. Britain is home to a sizable Muslim minority of nearly 2.5 million. The majority of the multi-ethnic minority has Indian, Bengali and Pakistani backgrounds. The 2011 census showed that the proportion of Muslims rose from 3.0 percent to 4.8 percent, becoming the fastest growing faith in Britain.

    “The scarf is not such a big deal and not all Muslims wear it. It is modesty and is to be identified as a Muslim.” “It does not oppress women but rather liberate them as they choose who sees their body rather than men and society choosing what to see.” Islam sees hijab as an obligatory code of dress, not a religious symbol displaying one’s affiliations. Sara said she hopes to defy misconceptions about Islam through a photography project that Muslim women are not oppressed. “Islam brings women to a high status and emphasizes on the roles of women and how they need to be respected and honoured.” Taking the decision to don the hijab, Sara said she hasn’t really experienced any funny looks. “I know some people that have. I’ve not had anything yet,” she said.

    “I do wish when people see someone wearing a scarf they would ask why do you wear a scarf.” Dealing with Muslims during their stay at the Middle East, Sara’s parents welcomed their daughter’s decision to convert to Islam. The teenager also thinks her two younger sisters, twins Jane and Joanne, 17, might one day follow in her footsteps. “My parents are fine about it. They know it is a good religion, they have seen the good that has come out of it,” she said. “They lived in the Middle East so they know what it’s about, they agree with it.”
    IA

    Like

    • re: Iftikhar Ahmad;

      Blessed Greetings!

      I personally, have absolutely no objection to the burqa, nijab, headscarf or veil. I think muslim women are beautiful with it or without it. I adore modesty in a woman. To me the burqa, nijab, headscarf and veil on a woman says.. “I respect myself.. and I want others to respect me. I adhere to the tenets and traditions of my religion. My body is for my husband to see and no one else”

      The first thing I notice on a woman is her eyes.. even here in the West when she is dressed in the Western style. They eyes are the windows to the soul. I like how the nijab draws you in to the woman’s eyes. I see the traditional attire of ones religion being between them and God and no one else. All religions have their own personal, traditional attire.. and that is their right and duty before God.

      What I am concerned about is.. “..how is the woman behind the nijab treated..?”

      I know I have mentioned before that.. more often than not.. it is not the “laws” of islam where many in the West find an objection.. but rather, the punishment that is given for violation of one of those laws.

      I see the West as “too lenient” and the East as “too harsh” when it comes to punishment.

      I to, believe in the “hierarchy” of the family. In other words, God is the head of man and man is the head of the family. This structure is found in Judaism/Judeo-Christianity as well. Although, we are taught that the wife’s obedience to her husband is conditional to the husband’s obedience to God.

      If a husband is a Godly man who is following the right path.. then, the woman is to be obedient to her husband but, if the husband is living in sin and being disobedient to God.. it is the obligation of the woman to follow God and disobey her husband.

      Peace and Love be with you and your’s…

      s/m @ sharia unveiled

      Like

      • re:s/m @sharia unveiled
        Hi, we meet again,
        Reading this thread and the comments, I’m confused;
        Who wrote the “introduct to islam, Is it Mr.Upaces88 ?- which has a conclusion :Islam’s violent must be accepted as GIVEN ?
        Other confusion is: yr answer to Iftikhar A is so soft, contradict with the facts of Islamic effects in the field all over the World ? Why is it so ? Thanks for yr explanation.

        Like

      • re: Tarzan;

        The intro is excerpted from a book entitled “ISLAM 101” by author Gregory M. Davis.

        I write with Iftikhar often. He is a friend from London. Sometimes my responses are.. “much ‘less soft'” lol.

        I guess I had my mind on Muslim women in that response.. and like with all women.. sometimes they bring out my softer side. (Not always though..)

        s/m @ sharia unveiled

        Like

  4. Tarzan, I think many people will take a closer look at Muslims as having the potential for love, tenderness, acceptance of others when more proclaim it as loudly as those who spout words of hate and slaughter.
    I have known, personally, very few Muslims. I did have the honor of working with a beautiful, loving and education woman from Pakistan. WE worked together at a Shelter for Battered Women and became close friends until she had her baby; and wanted to be home.

    I am an old lady now; but in my 30’s I owned and/or managed/promoted nightclubs. I was promoting the nightclubs in Six Holiday Inn Hotels and it was my responsibility to teach the new employees in the kitchen “how to serve drinks with dinner properly.” They were young Muslim Men. I know they had a hard time with “learning from a woman” but they were gracious and we learned to work together.

    I had another experience with two Muslim brothers who bought a new nightclub in Dallas, TX. that had been closed down. When I took over a new account, I “always” recorded the final signing of the contract…repeating exactly what was in the contract. Both of us signed it.

    In the contract, it was stated that I would have the club up and running in the “black” (meaning profit). They agreed NOT to spend $ for decoration, new equipment UNTIL my contract was fulfilled.

    In other words, IF they spent too much $ decorating, that would make the numbers in my success look as thought i failed.

    Well, payday came. They made about(0 $10,000 profit the first 30 days as I promised. I asked for my commission. They refused, “You are a woman and we don’t have to pay you.”

    I didn’t argue. I shrugged my shoulders and said, “Are you sure you want to cheat me?” They did.
    I immediately drove to Texas Alcohol and Beverage Commission (“TABC”) to talk to my long time friend and associate, “McCrackin.”…an old man by then dressed like something out of a Western. He told me not to worry about it.

    They were shut down the very next day. I didn’t get my $; however, everything in their club was confiscated and it cost them a great deal more. The State of Texas would never give them another liquor license.

    Like

Leave a Reply

